Education for all – Morocco

Massive apologies for not having posted for a week or two on here but I have a good excuse I promise!

I have recently returned from a school trip to Morocco on which me and 20 other girls and teachers went to visit and observe the work that EFA (Education For All) Morocco – a charity my school has raised over £8300 for this year alone.

EFA Morocco works to send girls  who’s families live in the Berber villages outside Marrakesh to school allowing them to continue their education which they would not otherwise do either because it is too far away or there being a financing issue as boys have the priority for education over the girls.

We were taken around the houses by a Lady named Sonia who works closely with the charity developing the way the EFA is able to spread their message and gain support.

The house mothers and the girls in the four boarding houses we visited were very welcoming and so grateful for the gifts we had brought them. Even though there was a language barrier as only myself and one other girl could speak French and none of us could speak Arabic,  communication and bonding without necessarily using words was not a problem! We brought lots craft activities and games meaning we were not short of activities to partake in with the girls.

The trip gave me a whole new outlook on education and my appreciation of all the things I have both inside school and outside. I am massively thankful to everyone at EFA including Sonia, the house mothers and the girls for being so welcoming and hospitable to my school and for giving me the best experience of my life.

I took over 500 pictures so I have only chosen a select few of my favorites to share with you.

Thank you for reading and I hope this inspires you to look into the work that EFA Morocco does. There website is http://www.efamorocco.org/ where you can read more into the Charity.

Bethany Jane x x

Pintrest: Bethanyjanesaul

Instagram: beff_janeMarrakesh Tannery Marrakesh Street art Marrakesh Street art Marrakesh Marrakesh Mule in Marrakesh Street art in Marrakesh Community art in Marrakesh Community art in Marrakesh Souk in Marrakesh Cat in Imlil Souk Marrakesh Marrakesh Main square Marrakesh View from the Kasbah Kasbah Mule in Imlil Goats in Imlil Chicken in Imlil Cat in Imlil Berber Street art Cat at the Kasbah View from Kasbah Rooftop view Girls from Dar Timmel Skipping in the sunlight Artwork from the girls Somme of the Girls and I Three week old kitten in the Souk Marrakesh Three week old kittens in the Souk Marrakesh View from Kasbah View from Imlil Hiking through Imlil EFA Morocco Blue skies and the Atlas mountains Art in the boarding houses Castle on the hill Art in the boarding houses Marrakesh panorama DSCF3986 DSCF3989 DSCF3993 DSCF4020 DSCF4024

 

3 thoughts on “Education for all – Morocco

  1. Pingback: 100 happy days 11 | bethanyjanebeautyblog

Leave a Reply

